Department of Finance.—This Department was created by Act of Parliament in 1869 and now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including the raising of money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treusury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all government disbursements. The work of the Department is organized into the following divisions: Tax Policy, Fiscal Policy, Federal-Provincial Relations, Social Security and Pensions, Economic Analysis, Government Finance, Tariffs, International Economic Relations, Resource Programmes, Economic Development, and International Programmes. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department as is the Inspector General of Banks. The Tariff Board, the Bank of Canada and its subsidiary, the Industrial Development Bank, and the Department of Insurance report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance who is also the spokesman in the Cabinet and the House of Commons for the Auditor General of Canada.

Department of Fisheries.—The federal fisheries service established at Confederation functioned as a branch of other departments until formation of the Department of Fisheries under its own Minister in 1930. Fisheries are exclusively within federal jurisdiction but certain administrative responsibilities are delegated to provinces under varying arrangements.

Principal responsibilities of the Department are: conservation and protection of fisheries through enforcement of fishing regulations; cultivation and development of fish stocks by scientific and technical means; inspection of fish products for quality control; encouragement of industrial development by technical and financial aid; economics research and intelligence services to industry and the public; and promotion of fisheries and fish products by information and consumer education programs.

Agencies associated with the Department are the Fisheries Research Board of Canada and the Fisheries Prices Support Board (a Crown corporation). The Department, with headquarters in Ottawa, has regional offices in St. John's, Nfld., Hallifax, N.S., Quebec, Que., Winnipeg, Man., and Vancouver, B.C. The Department is represented on the following international commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, Whaling, Great Lakes Fishery and North Pacific Fur Seal.

Fisheries Research Board.—The Fisheries Research Board of Canada operates under the Fisheries Research Board Act of 1937 (amended in 1947 and 1952-53). It has been active as a fisheries research body since 1898, first as the Board of Management of the Canadian Mariae Biological Station and later (1912) as the Biological Board of Canada. The Board operates under the Minister of Fisheries and membership consists of a full-time chairman and not more than 18 other members. The majority of Board members are university scientists, and other members are representative of the fishing industry and the Department of Fisheries.

The Board, with headquarters in Ottawa, operates research establishments in St. John's, Nfld., Halifax and Dartmouth, N.S., St. Andrews, N.B., Ellerslie, P.E.I., Grande-Rivière and Ste. Anne de Bellevue, Que., Winnipeg, Man., Vancouver and Nanaimo, B.C. Board scientists carry out research on distribution of fish stocks, biology and life history of fishes, marine mammals and other aquatic creatures and plants, oceanography, fishing techniques, quality and nutritive value of fisheries products, with the principal objective of increasing the scope and value of Canadian fisheries.

Department of Forestry and Rural Development.—This Department was established as the Department of Forestry in October 1960 to bring under one Ministry the conduct of programs of research relating to forest management, silviculture, protection against fire, insects and disease, and the improvement in the standards of wood utilization and development of forest products. By Order in Council of Mar. 5, 1964, the responsibilities of the Minister of Forestry were expanded to include the functions formerly exercised by the Minister of Agriculture respecting certain rural development programs under the Agricultural Rehabilitation and Development Act (ARDA), the Maritime Marshland Rehabilitation Act, and the administration of the program of freight assistance and grain storage costs on western feed grains. The name of the ARDA was changed in 1966 (SC 1966, c. 11) to Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA) and the name of the Department was changed under the terms of the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 25) to Department of Forestry and Rural Development.

The Forestry Branch of the Department, in addition to the above functions, carries out economic studies of the forest resources and of the forest industries. Financial assistance is offered to the provinces toward meeting specific forestry needs. The Department conducts forest surveys and provides technical assistance to other agencies of the Federal Government responsible for administration of forest lands, and co-operates with international organizations concerned with forestry in which Canada maintains membership. The Department acts as co-ordinator for the seven-agency Technical Committee for Watershed Research of the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.

The ARDA program of the Department is joined with existing programs of resource management and economic development to provide public assistance in meeting problems of physical, economic and social adjustment in rural areas. It also includes a program of soil and water conservation aimed at increasing the productivity of basic rural resources. Through a central and de-